A History of the Geffrye Almshouses

Regular price £5.00 Sale

This book provides a fascinating account of the Geffrye Almshouses in Shoreditch, London, and the conditions of the elderly poor who lived in them during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Originally built in 1714 by the Worshipful Company of Ironmongers the Almshouses were sold to the London County Council in 1911 in order to build a new Almshouse outside London due to the increase in the local population. In 1913 it was decided to convert the Almshouses into a museum of furniture, reflecting a major East London industry. Opening in 1914 the museum has developed to show the changing nature of English interiors from 1600 to the present day.

Paperback

64 pages

Fully illustrated